What do a Dwarven Brewhouse, Morats and a Shasvastii Noctifier have in common – not much except my blog!

Hi All,

Long time no post again  but I have been finding a little bit of time to do some painting.

First things first though and in response to reading a great post by DaggerandBrush on his dwarfs and dungeon ale repository, (check it out here, http://wordpress.com/read/post/id/61345766/197/ ) I said I would put up some pics of a Dwarven Brewhouse I started but have not yet finished, so here it is and a short interlude of how it came about. 

It came about as it was one of the GW Terrain building days they hold up at Warhammer World. Was a couple of years ago now. I had done the Realm of Battle board one and that was really good. As with most things GW it was a bit pricey but everything you needed was provided – Its scratch built using a number of their scenery and model kits such as towers, dwarf cannons and even parts of the Anvil of Doom, so although pricey for a single day, overall it was reasonable in terms of the kits you got to chop up and the hobby advice from guys who do this for a job for 7 hours, Oh and it included lunch in Bugmans ImageImage

It did involve some non GW bits such as the poly half spheres, cardboard, sticks for scratch barrels, wire and brass rod, paper and non GW super-glue!  I was quite impressed with the setup. They put us in one of the big well lit meeting rooms, there were about 10 tables with a couple of us on each table with out box of bits. It was hosted and done by a couple of the guys who buiild all the terrain at Warhammer World. There was a projector at the front and a massive screen so we could all clearly see the various steps of the build as they walked us through it.
Overall it was a fun day out, got to chat with other hobbyists which is always great and picked up a few tips from the GW guys too. Anyway enough of the waffle, what does it look like. As I say I still haven’t actually finished it but here it is.

ImageImageImage

Image

So thanks DaggerandBrush, you inspired me to dig it back out and hopefully get it finished and painted up.

ImageImage

Onto the Infinity stuff, which to be honest is what I really want to get done first. I have made some progress on the Morats and the Daturazi Witch Soldier. I also have also made a start on the Shasvastii Noctifier with Spitfire. As regular readers will know I fined it difficult to stay focussed! I have been trying to replicate more or less the studio scheme on the boxart. I say more or less as clearly it was never going to be that good, but did give me a reference to work from.

They are not yet finished, can’t decide what colour to go with on their back armour. I have found a few pics from searching the net but think i will end up sticking with some sort of blue-grey to tone in with the blue armour on their arms.

This brings me onto another challenge I have had. I have been experimenting, trying to get/replicate that cool NMM sort of relfective style they have on the blue armour on their arms, etc and failed miserably. I had recently attended the Golem NMM class so have the theory and the class was great but applying it has been a major challenge, which if I’m honest seems beyond me right now. Trying to get a smooth blend has just been a nightmare and I really just gave up. I think I need to practice on something I just don’t really care about to try and get the technique down a little better asI was not happy with the results and have ended up just doing redoing it with a gradual blue highlight with some “white” extreme highlights. It looks OK but OK was not really what i was after, nevermind.

Overall they are coming along OK, if slowly, but do need more work. I do still need to do the gems, guns, holsters, hair and some final highligths and touch ups to correct errors. Not much then….

Anyhow, here’s what they look like currently….

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Lastly I have the Shasvastii Noctifier with Spitfire. Previous readers will know I find it hard to stay focussed on one thing!

I decided to have a go with the airbrush to see if I could get some really nice well blended greens and some shadows and highlights. Seemed like the perfect model to try it on as I have tried to copy the card blister theme and this is pretty much light/dark greens on the skin and cloak. The cloak dominates so much I thought it would be worth a try. Not entirely happy with it but its OK for a first pass and good basecoat if nothing else.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I had glued him to the stone stairs base he came with but have decided to remove him as that does not fit with my scenery so have decided to mount him on a base that looks like he has just climbed out of a manhole cover instead. Seems to fit well with his “perching” stance.

That’s it for now folks, hopefully the next post will see those Morats done, at least for now. If I can get the Noctifier (above) done that leaves me just the Shrouded with Multi-Sniper rifle to get done and that will be all the Combined Army stuff and can get back to the Aleph!!

Thanks all and any/all feedback advice greatfully received. I have personally found the really nice people here (you know who you are) a real motivation to keep painting and posting so thanks everyone!

PS Wurmood/Leeman – any ideas for getting that plastic/kevlar armour plates right 😉

Cheers

Pete.

4 thoughts on “What do a Dwarven Brewhouse, Morats and a Shasvastii Noctifier have in common – not much except my blog!

  1. Love that brewhouse! The Combined Army look great too (despite being filthy aliens!)

    In terms of plastic/kevlar, my style is the lazy approach (as with all my painting!) and I simply do armour plates with an edge highlight – helps emphasise their sharpness and look more machined than natural.

  2. The brew house is great, I can almost smell the fermentation going on (although that just may be my Labrador). I also like the pattern you have achieved on the green stuff cloak. Both will look pretty cool once the paint is done. D.

  3. Glad I was able to inspire you. The brewery looks actually really awesome. The might sound cynical, but I am surprised GW still provides such worthwhile and fun workshops. I think that is what the crafting part of the hobby is all about. Making cool stuff either from scratch or using kits to create something awesome. If you can do it with other like minded people even better.

    The beer tanks look very cool and I like the idea of the taps besides the tanks.

    I really look forward to see the fully painted and finished brewery.

    I also like how the Infinity guys came out. Is it me or do they look a bit like the apes from Planet of the Apes? Did you consider using metallics instead of NMM?

    The airbushed cloak is getting there. Some more intermediate shades and maybe some touching up with a brush might work out.

Leave a Reply

